Questions?
13 Oak Drive
Hamilton, NY 13346
Best-Bet Databases
- Arts and Humanities Citation Index This link opens in a new windowCoverage: 1975–present. Articles and other materials on archaeology, architecture, art, Asian studies, classics, dance, film, TV & radio, folklore, history, language & linguistics, literature, music, philosophy, theater, and theology & religious studies. PART OF WEB OF SCIENCE; click on "More settings" to select Arts & Humanities only.
Terms of use - Project Muse Premium Collection This link opens in a new windowCoverage: 1995–present. Provides access to humanities, arts, and social sciences journals from a number of scholarly publishers. Colgate upgraded to the premium collection in 2019.
Terms of use - JSTOR This link opens in a new windowCoverage: varies. Includes over 1,000 leading academic journals as well as select monographs and other materials valuable for academic work. For most JSTOR titles, the most recent years of publication are not covered. If you want the most recent scholarship on a topic, you should probably try another database. However, current issues for selected journals are available on JSTOR as part of the Current Scholarship Program.
Terms of use - International Bibliography of Theatre & Dance with Full Text This link opens in a new windowCoverage: 1984–present. A research tool for the study of theatre and the performing arts comprising a fully indexed, cross-referenced, and annotated databank of over 60,000 journal articles, books, book chapters, and dissertation abstracts on all aspects of theatre and performance in 126 countries.
Terms of use
Journals
Some specific journals you might like to explore. This is not a comprehensive list!
Publishes research on dance and seeks to expand the constituencies, methodologies, and theoretical frameworks represented within the field of dance studies.
Dance Research, the journal of the Society for Dance Research, is essential reading for those involved in the study and practice of dance. The journal covers dance worldwide both from a historical and contemporary perspecive, engaging with current debates on dance and across cognate disciplines with dance at the centre of inquiry.
The Dance Research Journal, published twice yearly, is the official journal of the Congress on Research in Dance. DRJ carries scholarly articles, book reviews, a list of books and journals received, and reports of scholarly conferences, archives, and other projects of interest to the field.
Publishes research on dance teaching and learning including training of dancers, pedagogy, collaboration, creativity, social justice, choreography and technology.
PAJ: A Journal of Performance and Art
PAJ offers extended coverage of the visual arts (such as video, installations, photography, and multimedia performance), in addition to reviews of new works in theatre, dance, film, and opera. Issues include artists' writings, essays, interviews and dialogues, historical documentation, performance texts and plays, reports on performance abroad, and book reviews.
Women & Performance: A Journal of Feminist Theory
Women & Performance: a journal of feminist theory publishes scholarly essays from interdisciplinary feminist perspectives. We encourage dialogues among various fields of performance scholarship, including theater and performance studies, dance studies, music history and criticism, ethnography, new and digital media, cinema studies, and cultural studies; as well as queer, critical race, and post- and decolonial theory.