Our recordings are stored in LASR and we have LPs and CDs. Recordings are not arranged by composer or even by instrumentation. Each recording has a unique identifying number that indicates the order in which we purchased the recording. Call numbers beginning with iCD are CDs, iLP indicates a mono LP, and iSLP indicates a stereo LP. We have listening stations in Case Library or you may check out recordings to take home and listen.

To search for recordings in the library catalog, use the lefthand menu and limit the Content Type to Audio Recording.

• Internet Archive

The Internet Archive, a 501(c)(3) non-profit, is building a digital library of Internet sites and other cultural artifacts in digital form. As our web archive grew, so did our commitment to providing digital versions of other published works. Today our archive contains: 735 billion web pages, 41 million books and texts, 14.7 million audio recordings (including 240,000 live concerts), 8.4 million videos (including 2.4 million Television News program), 4.4 million images, and 890,000 software programs.

• National Jukebox

The Library of Congress presents the National Jukebox, which makes historical sound recordings available to the public free of charge. The Jukebox includes recordings from the extraordinary collections of the Library of Congress National Audio-Visual Conservation Center and other contributing libraries and archives. Recordings in the Jukebox were issued on record labels now owned by Sony Music Entertainment, which has granted the Library of Congress a gratis license to stream acoustical recordings.

Scores are not arranged by composer in our stacks. The Library of Congress call number system arranges scores by the instruments/voices needed to perform the composition. Call numbers for scores begin with M (ML is history/criticism and MT is music theory).

To search for recordings in the library catalog, use the lefthand menu and limit the Content Type to Music and/or Sheet Music.