Skip to Main Content
It looks like you're using Internet Explorer 11 or older. This website works best with modern browsers such as the latest versions of Chrome, Firefox, Safari, and Edge. If you continue with this browser, you may see unexpected results.

Instruction with Special Collections & University Archives

Resources on classroom instruction with SCUA

University Archives

The Colgate University Archives is the official repository for the non-current permanent records of enduring value for Colgate University. Its collections document the history of the university from the 1810s to the present and the activities of students, alumni, faculty, and staff.

Browse categories of university records:

Local and Regional History

Special Collections & University Archives maintains a small and growing collection of materials related to both the village and town of Hamilton, New York, and the greater Central New York region. These collections range from the papers of local persons and families, the records of community groups and businesses, and photographs, maps, and other non-textual materials documenting the region from the 18th century to present.

Manuscript Collections

In addition to rare books, Special Collections also contains a number of manuscript collections. Manuscripts, at their most basic definition, are documents written by hand. In addition to handwritten correspondence, diaries, and personal ephemera, manuscript collections can contain edited typescripts, page proofs, pamphlets, newspaper articles, interviews, photographs, and other various realia.

Our collections are divided into three categories:

Rare Book Collection

The Rare Book collection contains more than 13,000 items spanning more than 1000 years. Materials can be found by searching the library catalog using the link to the left.

Some collection strengths include:
Select Literary Collections:

Colgate University Libraries | 13 Oak Drive, Hamilton, NY 13346 | 315-228-7300