Joshua Finnell
Searching the Catalog for eBooks
Type in the name of the book you're looking for, or a keyword related to your topic, into the big search box on the libraries' homepage. In the results window, look to the left side of the screen for the Content Type heading and click on Book/eBook. This will limited it just books in the collection; ebooks will be marked as such in the results list.
General eBook Collections/Databases
- ABC-Clio eBook Collection This link opens in a new windowA collection of ebook reference titles from ABC-Clio and Greenwood.
Terms of use - Accessible Archives Complete This link opens in a new windowCoverage: 1700–1920. Includes complete access to hundreds of thousands of fully searchable full-text pages and to images from a variety of newspapers, magazines, and books. Our collections include: African American Newspapers, American County Histories, Godey's Lady's Book, The Liberator, The Lily, and many more resources.
Terms of use - Cambridge Companions Online This link opens in a new windowExcellent source for background material in a variety of subjects. There are three sub-collections: the Cambridge Companions in Literature and Classics; the Cambridge Companions in Philosophy, Religion and Culture; and the Cambridge Companions in Music.
Terms of use - Cambridge Core This link opens in a new windowCoverage: 1970–present. Contains ebooks and e-journals from Cambridge University Press and selected associated presses. Approximately 36,000 ebooks are available for use (but not all titles on the platform are available). Cambridge Companions and Histories are included in Colgate's access. Access to journals is restricted to only the titles for which Colgate has subscriptions.
Terms of use - Center for Research Libraries This link opens in a new windowCRL holds over four million newspapers, journals, doctoral dissertations, archives, government publications, and other traditional and digital research collections. The Center has special strength in publications and archives from many countries.
Terms of use - Early English Books Online (EEBO) This link opens in a new windowCoverage: 1478–1700. Contains digital facsimile page images of virtually every work printed in England, Ireland, Scotland, Wales, and British North America and works in English printed elsewhere from 1473–1700—from the first book printed in English by William Caxton, through the age of Spenser and Shakespeare and the tumult of the English Civil War. Includes text created by the Text Creation Project.
Terms of use - Ebook Central Academic Complete This link opens in a new windowThe Academic Complete collection from ebrary consists of over 180,000 full-text scholarly ebooks. Users can download many of the books on to e-readers, including iPads, iPhones, and other devices supporting Adobe Digital Editions for up to 14 days.
Use restricted to those with Colgate Network accounts
Terms of use - EBSCO eBook Collection This link opens in a new windowProvides access to a variety of ebooks accessible to Colgate. Most of these titles are shared with users at other libraries and only one user at a time may use a title. If you encounter a title that indicates it is in use, you can request a hold and be notified when the title is available.
Terms of use - Eighteenth Century Collections Online (ECCO) This link opens in a new windowUse Eighteenth Century Collections Online to access the digital images of every page of books published during the 18th century. With full-text searching of millions of pages, the product allows researchers new methods of access to critical information in the fields of history, literature, religion, law, fine arts, science, and more. It delivers every significant English-language and foreign-language title printed in Great Britain during the 18th century, along with thousands of important works from the Americas.
Terms of use - Empire Online This link opens in a new windowCoverage: 1492–1969. The collection spans five centuries, charting the story of the rise and fall of empires, from the explorations of Columbus, Captain Cook, and others right through to decolonization in the second half of the 20th century and debates over American imperialism.
Terms of use - Gale Literary Sources This link opens in a new windowIntegrates multiple digital literature collections in a single resource. Contents currently include the Literature Resource Center, which contains the Dictionary of Literary Biography, Contemporary Authors, and numerous literary criticism sources, and titles from the Gale Virtual Reference Center. Formerly called Artemis Literary Sources.
Terms of use - Gale Primary Sources This link opens in a new windowThe interface allows searching of multiple full-text primary source databases at the same time using a flexible, intuitive interface. Currently included within the index are Eighteenth Century Collections Online; Sabin Americana; 17th, 18th and 19th Century British Newspapers; Illustrated London News; Times of London; the Times Literary Supplement; and Archives Unbound (300+ small primary source archives). Formerly called Artemis Primary Sources.
Terms of use - Humanities eBook Project This link opens in a new windowAn online collection of approximately 4,000 books of high quality in the humanities from the ACLS.
Terms of use
- Internet ArchiveThe Internet Archive is a non-profit that was founded to build an Internet library. Its purposes include offering permanent access for researchers, historians, scholars, people with disabilities, and the general public to historical collections that exist in digital format. Founded in 1996 and located in San Francisco, the Archive has been receiving data donations from Alexa Internet and others. In late 1999, the organization started to grow to include more well-rounded collections. Now the Internet Archive includes texts, audio, moving images, and software as well as archived web pages in our collections, and provides specialized services for adaptive reading and information access for the blind and other persons with disabilities.
- Literature Online (LION) This link opens in a new windowCoverage: 1920–present. A library of works of English and American poetry, drama, and prose. Includes literature journals and other criticism and reference sources. Includes the Annual Bibliography of English Language and Literature (ABELL).
Terms of use - Oxford African American Studies Center This link opens in a new windowProvides students, scholars, and librarians with more than 8,000 articles by top scholars in the field. The core content includes: Africana, an account of the African and African American experience in five volumes; the new Encyclopedia of African American History, 1619–1895, which documents the full range of the African American experience; the African American National Biography; and Black Women in America, as well as primary source materials.
Terms of use - Oxford University Press Scholarship Online This link opens in a new windowCoverage: 1970–present. Contains ebooks from Oxford University Press and selected associated presses. Approximately 15,000 ebooks are available for use (but not all titles on the platform are available).
Terms of use - Readex AllSearch This link opens in a new windowCoverage: varies. Search all of the Readex databases in a single interface. Includes historic U.S. and foreign newspapers, early U.S. books, and translated foreign news reports.
Terms of use - Women Writers Project This link opens in a new windowA full-text collection of early women’s writing in English, published by the Brown University Women Writers Project. It includes full transcriptions of texts published between 1526 and 1850, focusing on materials that are rare or inaccessible. It includes Renaissance Women Online, which is comprised of over 100 texts.
Terms of use
Subject-Specific eBook Collections/Databases
- Annual Bibliography of English Language and Literature (ABELL) This link opens in a new windowCovering monographs, periodical articles, critical editions of literary works, book reviews, and collections of essays published anywhere in the world from 1920 onwards. This resource is a sub-section in the Literature Online (LION) database.
Terms of use - American County Histories to 1900. New York Pt. 4 North This link opens in a new windowDigital reprints of 19th-century New York County Histories including those for: Cayuga, Madison, Onondaga, Jefferson, St. Lawrence, Oswego, Lewis, Franklin, Oneida, Herkimer, Mongomery, Fulton, Schenectady, Washington, Essex, and Clinton counties.
Terms of use
. - American Foreign Relations since 1600: A Guide to Literature This link opens in a new window2008 ed. An update of the standard bibliography of American foreign relations literature from colonial times to the present day.
Terms of use - Archive of Americana This link opens in a new windowCoverage: varies. Includes Early American Imprints (Evans and Shaw-Shoemaker) and Early American Newspapers series 1–7 and African American Newspapers 1827–1998.
Terms of use - ARTFL This link opens in a new windowCoverage: varies. Full text of works representing a broad range of use of the French language, including scholarly editions of literary works (12th–20th centuries), as well as items from scientific and technical fields. Does not include the full text of ebooks; just allows searching of terms to locate them within the ebook and returns the section the term is located in.
Terms of use - Biodiversity Heritage Library This link opens in a new windowThe Biodiversity Heritage Library works collaboratively to make biodiversity literature openly available to the world as part of a global biodiversity community. It is a consortium of natural history and botanical libraries that cooperate to digitize and make accessible the legacy literature of biodiversity held in their collections and to make that literature available for open access and responsible use as a part of a global “biodiversity commons.”
Terms of use - Cambridge Histories Online This link opens in a new windowCurrently the collection contains more than 258 digitized volumes from the esteemed Cambridge Histories series, covering 15 subject areas. Useful for locating background information in almost any subject in the humanities, social sciences, and natural sciences.
Terms of use - Caribbean Literature This link opens in a new windowCoverage: 1880–present. The collections represent the works of writers from the entire Caribbean region, including Barbados, Guyana, Belize, Cuba, Suriname, French Guiana, Haiti, and Jamaica. Materials include titles in the numerous languages of the region.
Terms of use - County and Regional Histories and Atlases: New York This link opens in a new windowIncluded in this collection on New York counties and regions are 465 titles with tables and lists of vital statistics, military service records, municipal and county officers, chronologies, portraits of individuals, and views of urban and rural life not found anywhere else. The atlases provide additional information on land use and settlement patterns and scarce early town and city plans.
Terms of use - Gallica This link opens in a new windowGallica is the digital library for the Bibliothèque nationale de France. It contains over 1.5 million documents, 300,000 books, and 400,000 images. The default interface is in French with the option to change to English or another language. It includes royalty-free collections and collections whose rights have been negotiated with rights holders, digitized by the Bibliothèque nationale de France through its programs of mass digitization and/or backup. Gallica includes copyright-free images.
Terms of use - Gerritsen Collection of Aletta H. Jacobs This link opens in a new windowCoverage: 1543–1945. A collection of more than 4,700 publications from continental Europe, the U.S., the United Kingdom, Canada, and New Zealand. The anti-feminist case is presented as well as the pro-feminist; many other titles present a record of the condition of women at a given time.
Terms of use - HeinOnline Academic This link opens in a new windowHeinOnline’s Government, Politics & Law contains more than 80 million pages of content across 80,000 titles and 195,000 volumes. HeinOnline bridges the gap in history by providing comprehensive coverage from inception of more than 2,300 periodicals. In addition to its vast collection of journals, the database also contains the Congressional Record bound volumes in entirety, complete coverage of the U.S. Reports back to 1754, constitutions for every country in the world, classic books from the 18th ad 19th centuries, all United States Treaties, the Federal Register, and CFR from inception.
Terms of use - Loeb Classical Library This link opens in a new windowAn interconnected, fully searchable, perpetually growing virtual library of all that is important in Greek and Latin literature. Epic and lyric poetry; tragedy and comedy; history, travel, philosophy, and oratory; the great medical writers and mathematicians; those Church Fathers who made particular use of pagan culture—in short, our entire Greek and Latin classical heritage is represented here with up-to-date texts and accurate English translations. More than 520 volumes of Latin, Greek, and English texts are available in a modern and elegant interface.
Terms of use - PastMasters This link opens in a new windowA collection of databases primarily in philosophy and humanities, providing online access to the works of selected authors. This database provides a list of the collections available.
- Sabin Americana This link opens in a new windowDigital library of works written or published in the United States, as well as items printed elsewhere, that document the history of the Americas from 1492 to 1926.
Terms of use - Slavery and Anti-Slavery: A Transnational Archive, Sections 1–4 This link opens in a new window
Devoted to the transatlantic history of slavery. Includes books, manuscripts, court records, and serials.
Generously funded by the James E. Jones endowment.
Terms of use
