Broad-topic Article Databases
- Search the Big Search Box!This is a great place to start. Search across several hundred journals, books, DVDs, and government documents to get some general information on your topic.
- JSTOR This link opens in a new windowCoverage: varies. Includes over 1,000 leading academic journals as well as select monographs and other materials valuable for academic work. For most JSTOR titles, the most recent years of publication are not covered. If you want the most recent scholarship on a topic, you should probably try another database. However, current issues for selected journals are available on JSTOR as part of the Current Scholarship Program.
Terms of use - Academic Search Premier This link opens in a new windowCoverage: 1975–present (with selected older titles). A multi-disciplinary database with significant full-text. Covers information in nearly every area of academic study. Indexes 13,600 journals—4,700 in full text (of which 3,900 are peer-reviewed).
Terms of use - Project Muse Premium Collection This link opens in a new windowCoverage: 1995–present. Provides access to humanities, arts, and social sciences journals from a number of scholarly publishers. Colgate upgraded to the premium collection in 2019.
Terms of use
Subject-Specific Article Databases
- Professional Development Collection This link opens in a new windowCoverage: varies. Provides a highly specialized collection of nearly 520 high-quality education journals, including more than 350 peer-reviewed titles. This database also contains more than 200 educational reports.
Terms of use - ERIC This link opens in a new windowCoverage: 1966–present. The Educational Resource Information Center contains citations and abstracts from educational and education-related journals and ERIC documents (on microfiche and online).
Terms of use - INSPEC This link opens in a new windowCoverage: 1969–present. A bibliographic database providing abstracts and indexing to the world's scientific and technical literature.
Terms of use - Index Islamicus This link opens in a new windowCoverage: 1906–present. An international bibliography of publications in European languages on all aspects of Islam and the Muslim world.
Terms of use - International Bibliography of the Social Sciences This link opens in a new windowCoverage: 1951–present. Indexes and abstracts social science and interdisciplinary research. For book reviews, search title of book and REVIEW in Publication Type.
Terms of use - PAIS International This link opens in a new windowCoverage: 1915–present. Covers all aspects of public affairs including political science, sociology, and health with an international view. Coverage includes foreign language materials and some U.S. congressional documents. Includes references previously contained in the PAIS Archive.
Terms of use - Anthropological Literature This link opens in a new windowCoverage: 19th century–present. A bibliographic index to articles and essays on anthropology and archaeology, including art history, demography, economics, psychology, and religious studies.
Terms of use - Women's Studies International This link opens in a new windowCoverage: 1972–present. Covers the core disciplines in women's studies, including the latest scholarship in feminist research. Women's Studies International has the highest percent of coverage for core titles in the field.
Terms of use
Suggested Journals
Below are journals that might be particularly relevant for your research. The journals that are in bold are particularly useful for learning about the major trends and interests in the fields of comparative education and anthropology of education. The others might be helpful in finding good topics for research.
This is not an exhaustive list. Search Professional Development Collection, ERIC or JSTOR for more education journal articles.
-
Studies in International Education