Library Liaison
Lynne Kvinnesland
Contact:
lkvinnesland@colgate.edu
Case Library
Rm 315
Case Library
Rm 315
315-228-6661
Subjects: African American Studies, African Studies, Anthropology, Asian Studies, Caribbean Studies, CORE, Economics, Education, Geography, History, United States, History, World, International Relations, Islamic Studies, Latin American Studies, Linguistics, Middle Eastern Studies, Native American Studies, News, Peace and Conflict Studies, Political Science, Sociology
Supreme Court
- United States Reports: Cases adjudged in the Supreme CourtWashington: U.S. G.P.O., 1754--
LASR Gov't Documents JU 6.8: and online - Nexis Uni Federal and State Cases SearchClick on "Cases" under the Guided Search to o pick Supreme Court. Contains the Lawyers Ed., which includes annotated references. Formatting makes the text difficult to read
- Know the parties in your case? Click on Look up a Legal Case and enter the names. Order doesn't matter.
- Want to search the headnotes (contain the legal issues covered by a case)? Click on Look up a Legal Case and enter terms in the Topic input box. Does not search the full text of cases.
- Google ScholarA subset of Google that only searches books, articles, and dissertations. When you're on campus, the Colgate Article Linker will show up beside articles. Otherwise, use the Journal Finder to locate article full text.
- Full text legal opinions from U.S. federal and state district, appellate and supreme courts. Be sure to check the button for "Legal opinions and journals". Search by cases case name (like Planned Parenthood v. Casey), or by topics (like desegregation)
- Public Library of Law1754--
Full text requires free registration. Read the privacy policy first - FindLawOpinions from 1983--
Summaries from 2000-- - Legal Information Institute Supreme CourtDecisions and order, from 1900-present. Also contains orders and case updates. From the Legal Information Institute at Cornell Unviersity
- Landmark Briefs and Arguments of the Supreme Court of the United StatesWashington: University Publications of America, 1975-2007
CASE Main KF101.9 .L36 vol. 1-371 - Nexis UniFrom main menu choose All Sources, then narrow by category briefs, pleadings, and motions. Add U.S. Supreme Court briefs as a search filter.
- Office of the Solicitor General (Dept. of Justice)July 1998- .All briefs filed by the Solicitor General, except responses to IFP cases. From 1993-1996, and 1986-1990 Solicitor General merits briefs and responses. From 1982-1985 Solicitor General merits briefs. Please see the web site for information on omissions,arrangement, and formats.
- FindLaw Supreme Court Briefs1999-2007
- ABA Preview through HeinOnlineAll Supreme Court briefs from 1973-present. Link takes you to the Case Locator for easier locating of briefs.
- Supreme Court Oral Arguments (transcripts)Transcripts online from Oct 2000 term--
- Supreme Court Oral Argument (recordings)Recordings in several formats to listen to. Oct. 2010 term--
- Nexis Uni This link opens in a new windowIn upper right corner, click on Source Directory Find and enter "supreme court transcripts". Click on United States Supreme Court Transcripts, then on the red OK Continut button
- OyezCoverage varies. Search or select the appropriate years and browse. Recordings, when available, show up only on the page for a specific case
- Supreme Court DatabaseContains a tutorial, analysis tools, and statistical information about decisions from 1953-
- Supreme Court CompendiumWashington, D.C.; Thousand Oaks, Calif.: CQ Press
Case Reference KF8742 .S914
For more, search the catalog (and ConnectNY and World Cat) by the subject heading: United States Supreme Court Statistics