Multidisciplinary Databases
- Book Review Digest Retrospective This link opens in a new windowCoverage: 1903–1982. Provides excerpts and citations to book reviews.
Terms of use
- Book Review DigestCall Number: Case Reference Z1219.C95Coverage: 1905-2004/05. Indexes reviews of books written in English & published in the U.S. & Canada. More selective than Book Review Index.
Arranged chronologically, then alphabetically by author; subject and title indexes. Search year of publication and the year following publication.
- Academic Search Premier This link opens in a new windowCoverage: 1975-present (with selected older titles). Select Document type: Book Review
- Periodicals Archive Online This link opens in a new windowCoverage: 1810-2009. Select Document Type Review
- Periodicals Index Online This link opens in a new windowCoverage: 1790-1919. Select Scope: Book Reviews
- JSTOR This link opens in a new windowCoverage: varies by journal title. Not useful for reviews published in the last 3 to 5 years.Enter words from the book title in the Article Title field and check Limit to Type Review
- H-Net ReviewsReviews materials (not just books) in the humanities and social sciences.
Browse by date, type of material being reviewed or "list" (i.e. subject)
Advanced search by author, title, full text, and more
- Project Muse Premium Collection This link opens in a new windowCoverage: 1995-present. In left column, click on Content Type Reviews. Search for keywords from the title of the book
- Readers' Guide Retrospective This link opens in a new windowCoverage: 1907-1983, indexes popular magazines. Select Document Type Book Review and enter keywords from title of the book
- Nexis Uni This link opens in a new windowCoverage: varies, generally 1980s. Enter keywords from the title of the book. Click on Advanced Options; click on Look up Index Terms; search for book reviews; click in check box; click on OK Add to Search
- Ethnic NewsWatch This link opens in a new windowCoverage: 1959-1999. Search keywords from the title of the book and select Document Type: Review
- Iter: Gateway to the Middle Ages and Renaissance This link opens in a new windowCoverage:1784--present.Click on database (top link), then on Advanced Search. Select Type of Work: Review. Search for keywords from the title of the book
- American Bibliography of Slavic and East European Studies (ABSEES) This link opens in a new windowCoverage: 1950--present (online); Case Main DJK9.A63 (1973-89). Online: Select Document Type: Review. Search keywords from the title of the book. Paper: there is a separate book review section in each volume. Use title index to locate reviews
- Left IndexCall Number: Case Reference HX1.L45Coverage: 1982-99. Separate book review index in each issue. NO cumulation
- Washington Post Newspaper IndexCall Number: Case Reference AI21.W33 W36Coverage: 1972-77.
Look up subject heading Books--Authors, or Books--Titles