Why begin your research in reference sources?
Context
Gain a good background understanding of the topic and learn about key issues and major events
Specialized Language
Become familiar with the vocabulary scholars and authors use to discuss the topic and identify keywords and phrases that can be used in database searches
Focus
Move from a general interest in a topic to more specific issues related to the topic
Next Steps
Identify further research materials through citations and bibliographies
Starting Research
- Gale Virtual Reference Center This link opens in a new windowCoverage: varies. A database of encyclopedias and specialized reference sources for multidisciplinary research.
Terms of use
- Oxford Encyclopedia of the Modern World2008 ed. Provides information about major world developments from 1750 to the present, with close attention to social, economic, cultural, and political topics.
- Europa World PlusCoverage: current. the online version of the Europa World Year Book, covering political and economic information in more than 250 countries and territories.
- Literature Resource Center This link opens in a new windowCoverage: varies. Covers biographies, literary criticism and journals in fields of literature, language, linguistics and folklore for all modern languages. Includes Contemporary Authors, Contemporary Literary Criticism, and the Dictionary of Literary Biography along with many other resources.
Terms of use
- Geo-data: the world geographical encyclopedia2003 ed. Entries describe the physical geography of every nation on Earth. Physical features, climate, and vegetation are discussed in detail. Also includes physical relief maps for each entry and a World Rankings appendix with dozens of tables ranking major features of the Earth.