In 1975, Congress created the Federal Election Commission (FEC) to administer and enforce the Federal Election Campaign Act (FECA) - the statute that governs the financing of federal elections. This site is useful for its statistics on registration, voting, and campaign finances

A non-partisan non-profit organization, the Center for Responsible Politics specializes in the study of Congress and particularly the role that money plays in its elections and actions. Data about campaign finances available at this site, as well as CRP press releases.

Mashup of private and government information: voting records (Thomas), contributions (CRP data from FEC), and support for bills (hearings, news databases, organizational websites). Most interesting cross-tabulation is contributions received by yes/no vote for each bill.

Non profit non-partisan organization dedicated to sweeping reform that aims to dramatically reduce the role of special interest money in America\'s elections and the influence of big contributors in American politics.

Search contributions by zip code, address, name or political action committee. Special reports include contributions made by celebrities, industries, companies, and more.

Developed as part of the project on Ideology in the Political Marketplace, which is an on-going effort to conduct a comprehensive ideological mapping of political elites, interest groups, and donors using the common-space CFscore scaling methodology (Bonica 2013). Constructing the database required a large-scale effort to compile, clean, and process data on contribution records, candidate characteristics, and election outcomes from various sources. The resulting database contains over 100 million political contributions made by individuals and organizations to local, state, and federal elections spanning a period from 1979 to 2012. A corresponding database of candidates and committees provides additional information on state and federal elections

A project of Sunlight Labs, aims to provide "real time" data about campaign finance, lobbyist registration (including foreign), and proposed arms sales. "there is much less human curation of this data: we take a light-touch approach to automating data cleaning and reconciliation, but make no guarantees as to the absolute accuracy of the real-time streams."

A project of the Annenberg Public Policy Center of the University of Pennsylvania, "a nonpartisan, nonprofit, consumer advocate for voters that aims to reduce the level of deception and confusion in U.S. politics. We monitor the factual accuracy of what is said by major U.S. political players in the form of TV ads, debates, speeches, interviews, and news releases."

Joint venture of the St. Petersburg Times and the Congressional Quarterly. Features the "Truth-O-Meter" ratings of candidates statements.

Political statements researched and rated for truthfulness.

A searchable archive of about 7,000 measures that have appeared on ballots in all 50 states and D.C. since 1892. Search by state, topic, year, type of election or type of measure, or free text (no Boolean operators). Includes a summary, status (pass or fail) and by what percent. No full text of the ballot measure.

Ballot measures listed under State and Local menus options

coverage back to 2007