Every year natural hazards threaten lives and livelihoods and result in billions of dollars in damage in the United States. The USGS works with many partners to monitor, assess, and conduct targeted research on a wide range of natural hazards so that policymakers and the public have the understanding they need to enhance preparedness, response, and resilience.

USGS Earthquake Hazards Program monitors and reports earthquakes, assess earthquake impacts and hazards, and researches the causes and effects of earthquakes.

Information about current and past flooding and USGS flood-focused resources.

The mission of the USGS Volcano Hazards Program is to enhance public safety and minimize social and economic disruption from volcanic unrest and eruption. We accomplish this by delivering effective forecasts, warnings, and information about volcano hazards based on scientific understanding of volcanic processes.

USGS Fire Science is fundamental to understanding the causes, consequences, and benefits of wildfire and helps prevent and manage larger, catastrophic events. USGS scientists possess diverse technical capabilities that are used to address a variety of problems posed by wildland fires. Outcomes of USGS science can be used by fire and land managers to respond to fire-related issues when they arise.

The NHC mission is to save lives, mitigate property loss, and improve economic efficiency by issuing the best watches, warnings, forecasts, and analyses of hazardous tropical weather and by increasing understanding of these hazards.

FEMA's mission is to help people before, during and after disasters. This site contains information about current and past disasters in the United States.

Earthquake Track was created to make understanding earthquakes easier. The site contains information on earthquakes since the year 1900. New earthquakes usually appear on the site within a few minutes. With links to related USGS web pages.

The International Seismological Centre (ISC) was set up in 1964 with the assistance of UNESCO to collect, archive and process seismic station and network bulletins and prepare and distribute the definitive summary of world seismicity.

A map of recently occurred earthquakes.

IAVCEI stands for the International Association of Volcanology and Chemistry of the Earth's Interior. This web page contains links to web sites and web based resources compiled by the association.

VOGRIPA (Volcanic Global Risk Identification and Analysis Project) provides systematic information on global volcanic activity, hazards and vulnerability that can be analysed to identify locations at high risk from volcanism and gaps in knowledge about hazards and risk. This facilitates risk assessments at specific locations worldwide and enables systematic analysis of global volcanic hazards data.

The mission of GVP is to document, understand, and disseminate information about global volcanic activity. The site contains a searchable database of global volcanoes and eruptions.

Mission Statement: “GVM is a growing international network that aims to create a sustainable, accessible information platform on volcanic hazard and risk. GVM will provide systematic evidence, data and analysis of volcanic hazards and risk on global and regional scales, and support Volcano Observatories at a local scale. GVM will develop capabilities to anticipate future volcanism and its consequences.”

International Flood Initiative (IFI) is a joint initiative in collaboration with such international organizations as UNESCO-IHP, WMO, UNISDR, UNU, IAHS and IAHR. IFI focuses on research, information networking, education and training, empowering communities and providing technical assistance and guidance.

APFM supports countries in the implementation of Integrated Flood Management (IFM) within the overall framework of Integrated Water Resources Management (IWRM) to maximize net benefits from the use of their floodplains and minimize loss of life and impacts.

Global Forest Watch is an initiative to establish a global forest monitoring network, convened by the World Resources Institute and partners. The site contains a web application to monitor global forests in near real-time.

The International Association of Wildland Fire (IAWF) is an independent organization whose membership includes experts in all aspects of Wildland fire management. IAWF independence and breadth of global membership expertise allows it to offer a neutral forum for the consideration of important, at times controversial, Wildland fire issues.

When the Department responds to a major CAL FIRE jurisdiction incident, the Department will post incident details to the web site.

The archive page contains cetailed information for tropical storms since 1851 and tracking maps since 1971.

cyclocane is a CYCLOne and hurriCANE tracker by hayley. A private enterprise.

Located in Honolulu, the International Tsunami Information Centre (ITIC) was established Resolution IV-6 in November 1965 by the Intergovernmental Oceanographic Commission (IOC) of the United Nations Educational, Scientific and Cultural Organization (UNESCO). ITIC maintains and develops relationships with scientific research and academic organizations, civil defense agencies, and the general public in order to carry out its mission to mitigate the hazards associated with tsunamis by improving tsunami preparedness for all Pacific Ocean nations. ITIC is also assisting in the development and implementation of tsunami warning and mitigation systems globally (This resource links to many other resources.)

Tsunami Information Centre (NEAMTIC) was established to provide information on warning systems, risks and good practices in respect of tsunamis and other sea-level related hazards for civil protection agencies, disaster management organizations, decision makers, schools, industries in the coastal zone and the general public.