Library Liaison
Peter Tagtmeyer
Contact:
ptagtmeyer@colgate.edu
Cooley Science Library
McGregory Hall
Cooley Science Library
McGregory Hall
1-315-228-7402
Tips for finding government maps
Google is one of the best ways to locate US government information on the web. To find maps created or owned by government agencies, you can Google "[location] maps site:.gov", replacing [location] with the area of your choice. By limiting to only .gov sites, you will only find materials produced by US government agencies. Colgate Libraries also own many print maps, which can be viewed within the building on Level 3.
Digital Government Maps
- Library of Congress Digital MapsDigitized maps owned by the Library of Congress, including maps created by the US government. Includes cities, towns, states, and multiple countries around the world.
- Bureau of Land Management MapsIncludes frequently requested maps, Georeferenced PDF maps, and story maps.
- National Park Service mapsDownloadable jpg and Illustrator maps for all National Parks in the US.
- National Forest Service mapsUse the tabs at the top to access wilderness maps, visitor maps, mobile maps, and other options.
- NOAA Marine Geology and Geophysics pagesLinks to the main navigation page for the marine maps and other interactive data visualizations related to marine geology and geophysics. Includes bathymetric and fishing maps.
- USGS (United States Geological Survey) MapsOur programs produce accurate geologic maps and 3-D geologic frameworks that provide critical data for sustaining and improving the quality of life and economic vitality of the Nation. They also organize, maintain, and publish the geospatial baseline of the Nation's topography, natural landscape, built environment and more.
- USGS Geo Data PortalGateway into geospatial data from USGS.
- USGS Mineral Resources Online Spatial DataThe US Geolgoical Survey source for Interactive maps and downloadable data for regional and global geology, geochemistry, geophysics, and mineral resources.
- NOAA Nautical ChartsDownload any of NOAA's 1000+ nautical charts.
- National Geospatial Intellegence Agency non-classified maps onlineIncludes Antarctica (REMA), ArcticDEM, NGA Hurricane Support and Combating Wildlife Trafficking.
- TopoZoneUSGS's portal for free topographic maps of the US.
- The National MapThe National Map is a collaborative effort among the USGS and other Federal, State, and local partners to improve and deliver topographic information for the Nation.
- Geospatial Data.govThe "geo" portion of the US government's data.gov initiative. This is a good starting point if you want government geospatial data, and you don't know which agency or department might be the source of such data.
- HRSA (Health Resources & Services Administration) Map ServicesIncludes the most requested mapped data as image files, as well as several interactive apps to create your own map with HRSA data. Topics include HIV/AIDS data, rural health, medical shortages, and organ donation/transplant.
- USDA Natural Resource Conservation Service Geospatial GatewayThis is the US Department of Agriculture's primary source for data produced by the Natural Resource Conservation Service, the Farm Service Agency, and Rural Development.
- National Historical Geographic Information System (NHGIS)The National Historical Geographic Information System (NHGIS) provides, free of charge, aggregate census data and GIS-compatible boundary files for the United States between 1790 and 2011. Users must register to download data, but there is no fee for registration nor any spam.
- National Renewable Energy Laboratory maps and dataPart of the DOE, this site includes interactive maps of renewable energy sites across the US and internationally.
- NGA GEOnet Names Server (GNS)GNS is the official repository of standard spellings of all foreign geographic names, sanctioned by the United States Board on Geographic Names (US BGN). The database also contains variant spellings (cross-references), which are useful for finding purposes, as well as non-Roman script spellings of many of these names.
- NCEI's Bathymetry, Elevation, and Relief mapsNational Centers for Environmental Information's collection of map data online.
Print Map Collection
All print maps received through the Federal Depository Library Program (FDLP) are housed on Level 3 of Case Library, in the flat cases facing the windows.
- A-1: Annuals of the Association of American Geographers & National Geographic 1925-1955
- A-2: National Geographic 1956-1992
- A-3: National Geographic 1993-2012
- A-4: City Maps of China, Taiwan (Formosa), Italy, Japan
- A-5: City Maps of Korea, Algeria, Belgium, Croatia, Egypt, France, Gambia, Germany, India, Iran, Liberia, Libya, Malaysia, Morocco, Myanmar (Burma), Pakistan, Russia/USSR, Senegal, Sierra Leone, South Africa, Tunisia
- A-6: Historical Maps
- A-7: World on one sheet & World outline maps
- A-8: World, various scales
- A-9: Antarctica
- A-10: Greenland
- B-1: Eastern Canada
- B-2: United States, U.S. 1:250,000 (Eastern & Western)
- B-3: U.S. States: Alabama, Alaska, Arkansas, Colorado, Florida, Georgia, Idaho, Louisiana, Mississippi, Nebraska, New Mexico, New York, Nevada, Ohio, Oregon, Pennsylvania, South Carolina, Texas, Utah, West Virginia
- B-4: New York State regional and local
- B-5: New York State 7.5 minute topographic maps, Adams-Hamden
- B-6: New York State 7.5 minute topographic maps, Hamilton-Ransomville
- B-7: New York State 7.5 minute topographic maps, Racquette River-Yonkers
- B-8: Mexico, Cuba, Puerto Rico, Jamaica, Dominican Republic, Lesser Antilles, Trinidad, Barbados, Belize, Costa Rica, Guatemala, Nicaragua
- B-9: Bolivia, Brazil, Peru, Suriname, Guyana,
- B-10: Europe, various
- C-1: Great Britain, Ireland
- C-2: France & Benelux countries, France, Belgium, Netherlands
- C-3: Germany 1:100,000
- C-4: Germany Various, 1:250,000 & 1:2,000,000
- C-5: Middle Danube regional: Austria, Hungary, Romania, Czech Republic, Slovakia
- C-6: Austria, Hungary, Switzerland, Czechoslovakia, Poland
- C-7: Iberian Peninsula, Spain, Portugal
- C-8: Italy
- C-9: Italy 1:100,000 & 1:50,000
- C-10: Mediterranean Islands, Ibaza, Formentera, Mallorca, Menorca, Cyprus, Malta, Gozo, Comino, Pelagian Islands, Sardinia, Sicily
- D-1: Greece
- D-2: Balkans, Albania, Bulgaria, Romania, Yugoslavia
- D-3: Scandinavian region, Denmark, Faeroe Islands, Iceland
- D-4: Norway, Sweden, Finland
- D-5: Eastern Russia/Soviet Union
- D-6: Baltic States, Estonia, Latvia, South Caucasus, Lithuania, Georgia, Azerbaijan, Armenia, Kazakhstan, Uzbekistan, Kyrgyzstand, Tajikistan, Belarus, Moldova, Ukraine
- D-7: Siberia
- D-8: Turkey, Arabian Peninsula, Saudi Arabia, Yemen, Oman, Qatar, United Arab Republic
- D-9: Middle East, Iran, Iraq, Jordan, Syria, Lebanon, Jordan, Israel
- D-10: Pakistan, India, Kashmir/Jammu, Nepal, Bhutan
- E-1: China
- E-2: Manchuria, Hong Kong, Mongolia
- E-3: Korea, Taiwan, Japan
- E-4: Indochina, Burma, Cambodia, Laos, Vietnam, Thailand
- E-5: Philippines, Malaysia
- E-6: Indonesia, New Guinea, Lesser Sunda Islands
- E-7: Algeria, Egypt, Libya, Morocco
- E-8: Sudan, South Sudan, Tunisia
- E-9: Djibouti, Eritrea, Ethiopia, Kenya, Madagascar
- E-10: Mozambique, Ruanda-Urundi (Rwanda & Burundi), Somalia, Tanzania, Uganda
- F-1: Malawi, Mozambique, Namibia, South Africa, Zambia, Zimbabwe, Angola, Cameroon, Central African Republic, Chad, Congo, Democratic Republic of Congo, Gabon
- F-2: Benin (Dahomey), Burkina Faso (Upper Volta), Gambia, Ghana, Guinea, Guinea-Bissau, Ivory Coast, Liberia, Mali, Mauritania, Niger, Nigeria, Senegal, Sierra Leone, Togo, Western Sahara
- F-3: Australia, New Zealand
- F-4: All Oceans, Ocean floor, Chart of Limits of Seas & Oceans, Arctic Ocean, Pacific Ocean, Azores, Canary Islands, Cape Verde Islands, Madeira Group, Andaman Islands, Christmas Island, Cocos (Keeling) Island, Comoros Archipelago, Glorioso Islands, Maldive Islands, Micronesia (Bonin, Caroline, Gilbert, Marianas, Marshall, Palau islands), Polynesia (Hawaiian, Marquesas, Samoa, Society, Tonga, Tuamotu Islands), American Samoa, Cook Islands, Fiji, New Caledonia, Samoa, Solomon Islands Group, Tonga, Trust Territories of the Pacific, Vanuatu, Wake Island, Woodlark Island
- F-5: C 3. Census track maps, small
- F-7: C 3. Census track maps, large, & C 3.62/2-C 3.62/4: Bureau of the Census
- F-8: C 3.62/6:-C 3.205/3: Bureau of the Census
- F-9: C 55-J, Commerce, Defense and Energy
- F-10: I 19.42/4: - I 19.79: Water Resources Investigations, Open File Reports, Interior Depts. maps
- G-1: I 19.91-I 19.91/3: Geologic Investigations, Scientific Investigations
- G-2: I 19.98 - I 19.106: National Park Series
- G-3: I 19.111 - I 29: National Atlas of the U.S., National Park Service Maps
- G-4: I 49 - I 52.11: U.S. Fish & Wildlife Service, Bureau of Land Management (BLM)
- G-5: I 53.11/4: Arizona - California, BLM Surface & Minerals Management Series
- G-6: I 53.11/4: Colorada-Idaho, BLM Surface & Minerals Management Series
- G-7: I 53.11/4: Montana-Nevada, BLM Surface & Minerals Management Series
- G-8: I 53.11/4: New Mexico-South Dakota, BLM Surface & Minerals Management Series
- G-9: I 53.11/4: Utah-Wyoming, BLM Surface & Minerals Management Series
- G-10: PREX 3.10/4:A-C, CIA Maps
- H-1: PREX 3.10/4:D-G, CIA Maps
- H-2: PREX 3.10/4:H-L, CIA Maps
- H-3: PREX 3.10/4:M-SN, CIA Maps
- H-4: PREX 3.10/4:SO-Y 4, CIA Maps & other agencies
- H-5: Topical (Maps whose primary purposes is not the display of political boundaries, topography, or physical geography.
- H-6: Government Posters