Library Liaison
Lynne Kvinnesland
Contact:
lkvinnesland@colgate.edu
Case Library
Rm 315
Case Library
Rm 315
315-228-6661
Subjects: African American Studies, African Studies, Anthropology, Asian Studies, Caribbean Studies, CORE, Economics, Education, Geography, History, United States, History, World, International Relations, Islamic Studies, Latin American Studies, Linguistics, Middle Eastern Studies, Native American Studies, News, Peace and Conflict Studies, Political Science, Sociology
Starting Research - Reference databases and books
- Oxford Reference Online This link opens in a new windowA collection of reference books from Oxford University Press, which can be searched as a collection.
Terms of use - Gale Virtual Reference Center This link opens in a new windowCoverage: varies. A database of encyclopedias and specialized reference sources for multidisciplinary research.
Terms of use
- Countries and their Cultures2001 ed. Focuses on cultures and countries around the world, specifically what is and is not shared culturally by the people who live in a particular country. Entries contain descriptive summaries of the country in question, including demographic, historical, cultural, economic, religious, and political information.
- eHRAF: World Cultures This link opens in a new windowCoverage: 1997–present. Contains ethnographic collections covering all aspects of cultural and social life with a strong emphasis on non-Western cultures. eHRAF is unique in having subject indexing at the paragraph level. This allows detailed and precise searching for concepts not easily found with keywords. Ethnographic documents in eHRAF include culture-specific books, journal articles, and dissertations.
Terms of use - Handbook of Latin American Studies (HLAS) This link opens in a new windowCoverage: 1935–present. A bibliography of journals and books on Latin America covering topics in both the humanities and social sciences.
Terms of use
- The Oxford encyclopedia of Mesoamerican cultures [electronic resource] : the civilizations of Mexico and Central America byCall Number: ONLINE ReferencePublication Date: 2001The Oxford Encyclopedia of Mesoamerican Cultures is the first comprehensive reference source to chronicle Pre-Hispanic, colonial, and modern Mesoamerica, defined as the lands stretching from Mexico to the southern tip of Central America. With more than 600 articles, it is invaluable for those interested in the rich heritage of this land.