Russian Studies Online Encyclopedias
- Europa World PlusCoverage: current. the online version of the Europa World Year Book, covering political and economic information in more than 250 countries and territories.
- Countries & Their Cultures2001 ed. Focuses on cultures and countries around the world, specifically what is and is not shared culturally by the people who live in a particular country. Entries contain descriptive summaries of the country in question, including demographic, historical, cultural, economic, religious, and political information.
- Encyclopedia of Russian History2004 ed. Provides a comprehensive discussion of the people, politics, economics, religion, culture, and social systems of Russia, spanning the time from the beginnings of the Russian nation to the end of czarist Russia and on through the rise and fall of the Soviet Union.
- Encyclopedia of World Cultures1996 ed. Lists and describes more than 1,500 global cultures. It is the one of the primary resources for historical, social, political, economic, linguistic, religious, and other information on most cultures. Additional cultures are covered in the supplement (which is a separate resource)
- Former Soviet Unions diverse peoples: a reference sourcebook2004 ed. A guide to understanding the history of the ethnic diversity of the former Soviet Union and the current ethnic issues of the region.
- Pop Culture Russia!: Media, Arts and Lifestyle2006 ed. A look at contemporary Russian popular culture, exploring the historical and social influences that make it unique.
- Oxford Art Online This link opens in a new windowCoverage: current. Formerly known as Grove Art Online. Provides web access to the entire text of the Dictionary of Art, the Oxford Companion to Western Art, the Encyclopedia of Aesthetics, the Benezit Dictionary of Artists, and the Concise Oxford Dictionary of Art Terms. Also offers thumbnail art images, line drawings, and extensive image links.
5 simultaneous users
Terms of use
Routledge Handbook of Russian Politics and Society by ISBN: 9780203804490Publication Date: 2013-03-01
- Encyclopedia of World Cultures Supplement2002 ed. Lists and describes more than 100 global cultures not covered in the original 10 volume set. Users need to search both the original set and this supplement as there is not overlapping coverage.
Encyclopedias as Primary Materials
- Great Soviet Encyclopedia byCall Number: Case REF AE55 .B6217Publication Date: 1973English translation of the 3rd edition of the "Bolʹshaia sovetskaia entsiklopediia". Considered a primary resources because it presents the Soviet view of the time.
Print Encyclopedias
Encyclopedia of Contemporary Russian Culture by Call Number: Case REF DK510.32 .E53 2007Publication Date: 2007-02-15
The Greenwood Encyclopedia of Women's Issues Worldwide by Call Number: Case REF HQ1588 .G74 2003 and HQ1726 G74 2003Publication Date: 2003-09-30Check both Asia & Oceania as well as Europe to find all former Soviet Union states
Russia: A reference guide from the Renaissance to the Present by Call Number: Case REF DK36 .B59 2004Publication Date: 2004-05-01
Routledge International Encyclopedia of Women by Call Number: Case REF HQ1115 .R69 2000ISBN: 0415920892Publication Date: 2004-11-11
Sports Around the World by Call Number: Case REF GV706.8 .S664 2012ISBN: 9781598843002Publication Date: 2012-01-01
