Joshua Finnell
What is Critical Whiteness?
"Critical Whiteness Studies is an interdisciplinary project—with scholars from legal studies, literature and rhetorical studies, film and visual studies, class and feminist studies, etc.—that contributes to critical race theory." --Jennifer Beech, White Out: A Guidebook for Teaching and Engaging with Critical Whiteness Studies
"An important objective of [Critical Whiteness Studies] is to make whiteness visible, in order to disrupt white dominated systems of power. White norms permeate white dominated society, yet these norms appear to be common and value-neutral to the social groups that benefit from them. These norms create the standards by which “difference” is constructed. Scholars in the field seek to make explicit the ways in which whiteness is a determinant of social power and to demonstrate how whiteness works through its invisibility. Whiteness often goes unnoticed for those who benefit from it, but, for those who don’t, whiteness is often blatantly and painfully ubiquitous." --Barbara Applebaum, "Critical Whiteness Studies," Oxford Research Encyclopedias, Education. 2016.
Books
These are books from the Colgate Libraries collection. Some resources were identified through the open access ebook "Towards a Bibliography of Critical Whiteness Studies." Most resources are from searches using keywords and subject headings of "Critical Whiteness," "White People," "White Race," "Whiteness," and "White People."
Alchemy of Race and Rights by Call Number: CASE Main (4th floor) KF4757 .W53 1991Publication Date: 1991-04-18
Being White, Being Good: White Complicity, White Moral Responsibility, and Social Justice Pedagogy by Call Number: ebookPublication Date: 2011-07-21
Black on White: Black Writers on What it Means to be White by Call Number: CASE Main 2nd floor E185.61 .B586 1998Publication Date: 1998-03-24- Black on White: Black writers on what it means to be white by Call Number: CASE Main (2nd floor) E185.61 .B586 1998Publication Date: 1998-03-24
The Center Must Not Hold: White women philosophers on the Whiteness of philosophy by Publication Date: 2010-02-01ebook
The Construction of Whiteness: an interdisciplinary analysis of race formation and the meaning of a white identity by Call Number: CASE Main (2nd floor) HT1575 .C66 2016Publication Date: 2016-04-13ebook and print
Critical White Studies: looking behind the mirror by Call Number: CASE Main (2nd floor) E184.A1 C75 1997Publication Date: 1997-06-29print and ebook
Displacing Whiteness: Essays in Social and Cultural Criticism by Call Number: CASE Main 2nd Floor HT1523 .D57 1997ISBN: 0822320215Publication Date: 1997-09-22
Faces at the Bottom of the Well: the permanence of racism by Call Number: CASE Main (2nd Floor) E185.615 .B395 1992Publication Date: 1992-10-13print and ebook
Feeling White: Whiteness, Emotionality, and Education by Call Number: CASE Main 4th floor LC212.2 .M385 2016Publication Date: 2016-01-01
Good White People: the problem with middle-class white anti-racism by Call Number: CASE Main (2nd floor) E184.A1 S954 2014Publication Date: 2014-06-01Ebook and print
The History of White People by Call Number: CASE Main (2nd floor) E184.A1 P29 2010Publication Date: 2010-03-15
Identifying Race and Transforming Whiteness in the Classroom by Call Number: CASE Main 4th floor LC212 .I34 2004Publication Date: 2006-10-23
The Invention of the White Race by Call Number: CASE Main (2nd floor) E185 .A44 1994Publication Date: 1994-03-172 volume set
Learning to Be White: money, race, and God in America by Call Number: CASE Main 2nd floor E184.E95 T47 1999Publication Date: 2000-11-01
A Letter to My White Friends and Colleagues: What you can do right now to Help the Black Community by Publication Date: 2021-05-10
The Making and Unmaking of Whiteness by Call Number: CASE Main 2nd floor E184.A1 M2627 2001Publication Date: 2001-09-07
Me and White Supremacy: combat racism, change the world, and become a good ancestor by Call Number: CASE Main (2nd floor) HT1575 .S23 2020Publication Date: 2020-01-28ebook and print
Off White: Readings on Race, Power and Society by Call Number: CASE Main 2nd floor E184.A1 O338 2004Publication Date: 2004-07-26ebook and print
Playing in the Dark: whiteness and the literary imagination by Call Number: CASE Main (4th floor) PS173.N4 M67 1993Publication Date: 1993-07-27
Postcolonial Whiteness: A Critical Reader on Race and Empire by Call Number: CASE Main 4th floor JV305 .P67 2005Publication Date: 2005-02-10ebook and print
Revealing Whiteness: The Unconscious Habits of Racial Privilege by Call Number: CASE Main (2nd Floor) HT1575 .S85 2006Publication Date: 2006-03-01ebook and print
Rhetorical Listening: identification, gender, whiteness by Call Number: CASE Main (4th floor) PE1405.U6 R384 2005Publication Date: 2006-01-04print and ebook
Routledge Handbook of Critical Studies in Whiteness by Call Number: ebookPublication Date: 2021-11-29
State of White Supremacy: racism, governance, and the United States by Call Number: CASE Main (2nd floor) E184.A1 S76 2011Publication Date: 2011-03-07ebook and print
The Sum of Us: what racism costs everyone and how we can prosper together by Call Number: CASE Main (2nd floor) E185.8 .M38 2021Publication Date: 2021-02-16
Understanding White Privilege: Creating Pathways to Authentic Relationships Across Race by Call Number: CASE Main (2nd floor) HT1575 .K456 2006Publication Date: 2006-03-21ebook and print
Unveiling Whiteness in the Twenty-First Century: Global Manifestations, Transdisciplinary Interventions by Publication Date: 2015ebook
What White Looks Like: African-American Philosphers on the Whiteness Question by Call Number: CASE Main 2nd floor E185.615 .W438 2004Publication Date: 2004-02-24ebook and print
White Fragility: why it's so hard for white people to talk about racism by Call Number: CASE Main (2nd floor) HT1521 .D53 2018Publication Date: 2018-06-26- Whiteness, Pedagogy, and Youth in America: Critical Whiteness Studies in the Classroom by Publication Date: 2018-01-17ebook
Whiteness: A Critical Reader by Call Number: CASE Main (2nd floor) E184.A1 W398 1997Publication Date: 1997-07-01
Whiteness: An Introduction by Call Number: CASE Main (2nd floor) HT1575 .G37 2007Publication Date: 2007-09-18
Whiteness Visible: the meaning of whiteness in American literature and culture by Call Number: CASE Main (4th floor) PS173.W46 B33 1998Publication Date: 1998-09-01
White Out: A Guidebook for Teaching and Engaging with Critical Whiteness Studies by Publication Date: 2020ebook
White Privilege: essential readings on the other side of racism by Call Number: CASE Main (2nd floor) E184.A1 W394 2002Publication Date: 2001-07-15
White Reign: Deploying Whiteness in America by Call Number: CASE Main 2nd floor E184.A1 W395 1998Publication Date: 1998-09-15
White Self-Criticality Beyond Anti-Racism: How Does it Feel to be a White Problem? by Call Number: CASE Main (2nd floor) E185.615 .W47 2015Publication Date: 2014-10-21
White Trash: race and class in America by Call Number: CASE Main (2nd floor) E184.A1 .W397 1997Publication Date: 1996-12-20
White Trash: The 400-year Untold History of Class in America by Call Number: CASE Main (2nd floor) HN90.S6 I84 2016Publication Date: 2016-06-21
White Women, Race Matters: the social construction of whiteness by Call Number: CASE Main (2nd floor) HQ1154 .F683 1993Publication Date: 1993-08-16ebook and print
White Women in Racialized Spaces: Imaginative Transformation and Ethical Action in Literature by Call Number: ebookPublication Date: 2002-08-01
Working Through Whiteness: International Perspectives by Call Number: CASE Main 2nd floor HT1575 .W67 2002Publication Date: 2002-04-11ebook and print
Suggested Web Readings
- 103 Things White People Can Do for Racial JusticeContinually updated list of resources, actions, and organizations.
- Peggy McIntosh's White Privilege Papers"Peggy McIntosh's papers on White Privilege are the ones most cited on the subject around the world, according to Google Scholar. Publications that have mentioned her work include the New Yorker (5/12/2014) and the Washington Post (1/22/2016). She insists, however, that her work is "about my experience, not about the experiences of all white people in all times and places and circumstances." We therefore present her papers on privilege, together with her piece titled, "Some Notes for Facilitators on Presenting My White Privilege Papers," in which she explains her intentions and offers suggestions for how to use this work in a classroom or other group setting."
- Racial Equity ToolsMassive collection of resources supporting racial equity. Includes glossary, data, and readings.
- Settler Fragility: Why Settler Privilege Is So Hard to Talk About"Settler fragility stems from settler privilege, which is similar to white privilege in that it is systemic, structural, and based on white supremacy, making it difficult to identify. Only in some ways, settler privilege is far more covert and cunning. The reason is because of the ubiquitous ways the US is normalized; that is, the US settler state is the “water we swim in.” US citizens of all races and ethnic groups have been indoctrinated their entire lives with messages designed to foster a sense of national pride and belonging in the making of what has been called an “imagined community,” which always occurs on Indigenous lands. Their citizenship and their very identity are taken for granted without critical consciousness about the US’s contradictory foundational structures and narratives."
- Toward a Bibliography of Critical Whiteness StudiesAn amazing resource, this bibliography published in 2006 has lists of books and articles on Critical Whiteness, categorized with scholarly overviews. Many materials on this list were found via this resource.
- Unpacking the Invisible Knapsack of Settler Privilege"People who do not have ancestral connections to Native communities are all either settlers or immigrants. People with ambiguous “Native ancestry,” like Elizabeth Warren, are so disconnected from whatever Native roots they may have had that they can no longer be considered Native. Settlers are people whose ancestors who came to acquire recently dispossessed Indian lands, such as recipients of the homesteads of the nineteenth century and earlier land speculators. Immigrants are people who came later to cash in on the benefits of American citizenship that didn’t necessarily include land (but might have if they came with enough money to invest in American land). Most are settlers (also “colonizers”) or immigrants by choice, with the exception of Blacks who are descended from slaves who were settled here without their consent."
- White Supremacy Culture"My intention is to say that white supremacy culture trains us all to internalize attitudes and behaviors that do not serve any of us. A belief that we can be perfect, or should be perfect, raises the questions: who decides what perfect is? why would we want to be perfect? Worship of the written word is not in any way associated with the ability to write well. Worship of the written word is a cultural belief that something only has meaning if it is written down, and only if it is written down according to a certain very "white" standard in a certain very "white" way. This belief leads us to ignore and devalue all the wisdom that comes to us intuitively, through our bodies, through story, music, film, and song. Through slang. Through humor. Through children's games. Through prayer. Through Spanish or Arabic or so many other languages, including the ones that communities are working to restore."