Library Liaison
Debbie Krahmer
No pronouns; Debbie or D or Mr. Krahmer
Contact:
dkrahmer@colgate.edu
Office: 304 Case-Geyer
Website
Office: 304 Case-Geyer
Subjects: African American Studies, African Studies, Caribbean Studies, CORE, Environmental Studies, Film and Media Studies, Islamic Studies, Jewish Studies, Latin American Studies, LGBTQ Studies, Linguistics, Medieval & Renaissance Studies, Middle Eastern Studies, Museum Studies, Native American Studies, Peace and Conflict Studies, Russian and Eurasian Studies, U.S. Government, Womens Studies, Writing and Rhetoric
Newspapers
-
Asahi Simbun Asia & Japan WatchEnglish language daily newspaper
-
The Japan NewsYomiuri Shimbun, free articles only
-
Japan TimesFree online version of the Japan Times, with backfiles to January, 1997. English.
-
Mainichi Daily NewsEnglish version. National daily news since 1922.
-
NHK World-JapanInternational version of Japan's public media organization NHK.
-
Access World News Research CollectionCoverage: varies by title. Access World News Research Collection provides full-text information and perspectives from over 10,000 US and international news sources, each with its own distinctive focus offering diverse viewpoints on local, regional and world issues. Content includes newspapers, video transcripts, blogs, and other formats.
Terms of use -
Foreign Broadcast Information Service (FBIS) Daily Reports 1974-1996Coverage: 1974-1996. Translations of foreign radio and television broadcasts, news agency transmissions, newspapers, periodicals, and government statements from foreign countries. Series 1 through 6 have been released. They cover Africa, Asia, East Europe, Latin American, and the Middle East.
Terms of use -
World News Connection1995-2013 Discover what’s really happening in specific countries and regions of Africa, Asia, Eurasia, Europe,the Middle East, the Americas, and Oceania. Information is compiled and translated from more than 800 non-U.S. media sources, including news articles, Web sites, broadcasts, periodicals, and non-classified technical reports. Earlier content is available from Foreign Broadcast Information Service (FBIS) Daily Reports 1974-1996 on the Newsbank platform.
Terms of use
Government Information
-
Foreign GovernmentsMaintained by Northwestern University. List of links to the official websites of national governments.
Maps
-
Japanese Historical MapsEnglish website. Collection of historical maps of Japan by UC-Berkeley. Especially rare is the collection of Tokugawa city maps: 252 maps of the city of Edo (modern Tokyo), 79 maps of Kyoto, 40 of Osaka, and 30 maps of other cities such as Kanazawa, Nagoya, Nagasaki, and Yokohama, all from the Tokugawa period. Among the earliest maps are those of Osaka (1656), Kyoto (1654-68), and Edo (1676). The earliest Japanese world maps also date from this period.
-
Asian Maps in the Perry-Castaneda Library Map CollectionContains images of tens of thousands of maps of the world's nations, major cities, state outline maps and more, including a regularly updated maps of current interest section
Japan
-
Japan Statistical YearbookCall Number: HA1832 .J36Current volumes in Case REF (3rd floor), older volumes in Case MAIN (2nd floor). CD-ROMs are available for volumes after 2002. 1984-Current
-
Historical Statistics of JapanCovers over 100 years. No longer updated as of March 2012.
-
Statistical Handbook of JapanCurrent version of the Statistical Handbook of Japan. Request earlier copies (back to 1969) through WorldCat.
-
e-STATOnline portal for the official statistics of Japan. Includes "Social Indicators by Prefecture"
-
Nihon Toshi Nenkan. Municipal Yearbook of JapanContains information from the Japan Association of City Mayors and includes survey materials from related government bodies and other organizations. Only available through Interlibrary Loan.