Library Liaison
Starting Research
-
Oxford Reference Online This link opens in a new windowA collection of reference books from Oxford University Press, which can be searched as a collection.
Terms of use -
Gale Virtual Reference Center This link opens in a new windowCoverage: varies. A database of encyclopedias and specialized reference sources for multidisciplinary research.
Terms of use
-
Encyclopedia of Latin American History and Culture2008 ed. Provides a comprehensive, multidisciplinary view of Latin American history and culture from prehistoric times to the present. Covers cultural issues and includes numerous biographical profiles of important figures in politics, letters and the arts.
-
The Oxford encyclopedia of Mesoamerican cultures: The civilizations of Mexico and Central AmericaThe Oxford Encyclopedia of Mesoamerican Cultures is the first comprehensive reference source to chronicle Pre-Hispanic, colonial, and modern Mesoamerica, defined as the lands stretching from Mexico to the southern tip of Central America. With more than 600 articles, it is invaluable for those interested in the rich heritage of this land.
Why begin your research in reference sources?
Context
Gain a good background understanding of the topic and learn about key issues and major events
Specialized Language
Become familiar with the vocabulary scholars and authors use to discuss the topic and identify keywords and phrases that can be used in database searches
Focus
Move from a general interest in a topic to more specific issues related to the topic
Next Steps
Identify further research materials through citations and bibliographies