Library Liaison
Debbie Krahmer
No pronouns; Debbie or D or Mr. Krahmer
Contact:
dkrahmer@colgate.edu
Office: 304 Case-Geyer
Website
Office: 304 Case-Geyer
Subjects: African American Studies, African Studies, Caribbean Studies, CORE, Environmental Studies, Film and Media Studies, Islamic Studies, Jewish Studies, Latin American Studies, LGBTQ Studies, Linguistics, Medieval & Renaissance Studies, Middle Eastern Studies, Museum Studies, Native American Studies, Peace and Conflict Studies, Russian and Eurasian Studies, U.S. Government, Womens Studies, Writing and Rhetoric
General Journal Databases
-
Search the Big Search Box!This is a great place to start. Search across several hundred journals, books, DVDs, and government documents to get some general information on your topic.
-
Academic Search Premier This link opens in a new windowCoverage: 1975-present (with selected older titles). A multi-disciplinary database with significant full-text. Covers information in nearly every area of academic study. Indexes 13,600 journals - 4,700 in full text (of which 3,900 are peer-reviewed)
Terms of use -
JSTOR This link opens in a new windowCoverage: varies. Includes over one thousand leading academic journals as well as select monographs and other materials valuable for academic work. For most JSTOR titles, the most recent years of publication are not covered. If you want the most recent scholarship on a topic, you should probably try another database. However, current issues for selected journals are available on JSTOR as part of the Current Scholarship Program.
Terms of use -
Project Muse Premium Collection This link opens in a new windowCoverage: 1995-present. Provides access to humanities, arts, and social sciences journals from a number of scholarly publishers. Colgate upgraded to the premium collection in 2019..
Terms of use
Subject-Specific Article Databases
-
Agricultural & Environmental Science Database This link opens in a new window1960 - current. This multidisciplinary database provides comprehensive coverage of the environmental sciences. Abstracts and citations are drawn from over 10,000 serials including scientific journals, conference proceedings, reports, monographs, books and government publications.
Terms of use -
Biological Abstracts This link opens in a new windowCovers: 1969 + Biological Abstracts® is a comprehensive reference database covering life sciences journal literature.
Terms of use -
Geobase This link opens in a new window1980-present. Covers worldwide literature on geography, geology, ecology, and related disciplines.
-
GreenFILE This link opens in a new windowA database of on the environment. Topics covered include global climate change, green building, pollution, sustainable agriculture, renewable energy, recycling and more.
Terms of use -
International Bibliography of the Social Sciences This link opens in a new windowCoverage: 1951-present. Indexes and asbstracts social science and interdisciplinary research. For book reviews, search title of book and REVIEW in Publication Type.
Terms of use -
Jstor Sustainability This link opens in a new windowA collection of academic and policy research on environmental stresses and their impact on society. Includes articles, ebooks and research reports
Terms of use -
Web of Science This link opens in a new windowCoverage: 1989-present. Access to Science Citation Index, Social Science Citation Index, and/or Arts & Humantities Citation Index. This resource has broad multidisciplinary coverage of scholary articles. A feature which is somewhat unique to this resource is citation searching. Using an important historic reference - one can see the more recent articles which cited the key reference. Part of Web of Knowlege
Terms of use