2009. The core content of this work reviews and analyzes the process by which aspirants to the American presidency have campaigned for the support of the national electorate and how voters have made their selections from 1789 to the present day.

2002. Essays by subject experts treat concepts and doctrines, policymaking, commerce and science, human rights and arms control, with specific articles on topics ranging from anti-imperialism to environmental diplomacy, from refugee policies to terrorism and countermeasures.

2009 ed. Offers authoritative coverage of the concepts, traditions, events, and individuals that shaped United States' foreign relations from the American Revolution to the present.

2015 ed. This encyclopedia examines every significant social movement in American history through the early twenty-first century.

2006 ed. Covers all aspects of the African-American experience from 1619 to the present day. Uses biographies, historical essays, and thematic pieces to fully define in one source the cultural roots and current condition of the African-American community.

2007. Details current geographical, social, and political data, historical narrative, and statistical information on the 50 states, District of Columbia, Puerto Rico, Caribbean and Pacific dependencies of the U.S.

2013. This encyclopedia offers both assessment and analysis of the key episodes, issues and actors in the military and diplomatic history of the United States.

2013. This encyclopedia brings together in one two-volume set the record of America's values, aspirations, anxieties, and beliefs as expressed in both everyday life and formal bodies of thought.

2000. Drawing on the most current scholarship in the field, this is a comprehensive companion to the study of war, peace and the military throughout American history.

2015. These volumse contain over 500 essays on the major American Enlightenment figures, including Benjamin Franklin, Thomas Jefferson, David Rittenhouse, Benjamin Rush, Jonathan Edwards and others.

2006. Provides a complete history of racial and ethnic groups that have populated the American West, including the settling of the West and the movements of American Indians African Americans and the role of women in the West's development.

2013. An A to Z reference work on the political development of one of America's most politically distinct, not to mention its fastest growing, regions.

2013. This encyclopedia looks at the history of all drugs in North America, including alcohol, tobacco, prescription drugs, cannabis, cocaine, heroin, methamphetamine, and even chocolate and caffeinated drinks.

2008. These approximately 450 articles explore all topics relevant to American political campaigns, elections and electoral behaviour including some cross-cultural comparisons to help place American trends in a global context.

2012. Covers each presidential campaign in depth, examining a large number of related issues ranging from the use of social media in modern presidential campaigns to negative campaign ads and key slogans used in every presidential campaign.

2012. This encyclopedia brings together an unparalleled wealth of information about the laws, institutions, and actors that have governed America throughout its history.

2012. Provides detailed in-depth coverage of all aspects of American politics.

2011. A comprehensive treatment of anti-immigration sentiment exploring debate, policies, ideas, and key groups from historical and contemporary perspectives.

2014. Traces the scope and sweep of U.S. immigration from the earliest settlements to the present, providing a comprehensive, multidisciplinary approach to all aspects of the subject.

2015. Chapters address legal, social, political, and cultural issues of immigrant groups on a state-by-state basis and explore immigration trends and issues faced by individual ethnic populations.

2010. With over 500 alphabetically organized entries, the Encyclopedia tells the whole story of constitutional amendments: the rigorous ratification process, the significance of the 27 amendments that made it into the Constitution, and the notable and sometimes preposterous topics of the thousands that did not.

2004. A total of 271 essays present chiefly historical perspectives in the fields of American and cultural studies, sociology, recreation, sports, and leisure studies.

2012. A critically-acclaimed resource to the history, politics, content, procedures, and uses of the decennial census of the American population.

2014. Explores the changing character of science, medicine, and technology in the United States; the key individuals, institutions, and organizations responsible for major developments; and the concepts, practices, and processes underlying these changes.

2015. This illustrated encyclopedia examines the unique influence and contributions of women in every era of American history, from the colonial period to the present.

2017. Addresses nearly every aspect of local history, including everyday issues, theoretical approaches, and trends in the field.

2006 ed. Covers the causes, course, and consequences of the war and the political, social, and military origins of the nation.

Offers a multidisciplinary treatment of course, causes, effects, and specific details of the War

2000 ed. A comprehensive reference on the political, social, and military aspects of the American Civil War.

2011. Offers a concise, comprehensive overview of the major personalities and pivotal events of the war that redefined the American nation.

2005 ed. Covers the entire scope of the First World War from its earliest roots to its continuing impact on global politics and human society.

2005 ed. Covers the entire scope of the Second World War from its earliest roots to its continuing impact on global politics and human society.

2007 ed. Covers the transformation of American, Canadian, and British societies during the two world wars, including aspects of working, recreational, and cultural life during wartime.

2011 ed. A comprehensive study of one of the longest and most divisive conflicts in U.S. history.

2007 ed. A comprehensive five-volume reference on the defining conflict of the second half of the 20th century, covering all aspects of the Cold War as it influenced events around the world.

2009. Documents the lives and stories of women who contributed directly to the war effort via official and semi-official military organizations, as well as the millions of women who worked in civilian defense industries, ranging from aircraft maintenance to munitions manufacturing and much more.

2012. Tucker, a respected military historian and senior fellow of military history at ABC-CLIO, has assembled a group of scholars to provide greater understanding of the war and its significance for both countries. Includes primary documents.

2013. This unique reference shows how the United States has intervened militarily, politically, and economically in Central America, South America, and the Caribbean from the early 19th century to the present day.

2007 ed. All aspects of life in Jamestown, the first successful British colony in the New World.

2006 ed. This comprehensive, richly illustrated work brings the full details of America's colonial heritage vibrantly to life for today’s readers. Contents include approximately 500 articles, 250 illustrations and maps, dozens of topical and regional chronologies, a large selection of primary documents, and an extensive master bibliography.

2015 ed. This text holds four volumes of essays and entries on the early Republic and Antebellum era in America spanning the end of the American Revolution in 1781 to the outbreak of Civil War in 1861.

2005 ed. An encyclopedia of the personalities, politics, and events involved in drafting the U.S. Constitution.

2006 ed. Provides a complete history of racial and ethnic groups that have populated the American West, including the settling of the West and the movements of American Indians African Americans and the role of women in the West's development.

2007 ed.This encyclopedia is examines of all the issues surrounding slavery: the origins, the justifications, the controversies, and the human drama.

2015. Includes general and specific entries on politics and business, labor, industry, agriculture, education and youth, law and legislative affairs, literature, music, the performing and visual arts, health and medicine, science and technology, exploration, life on the Western frontier, family life, slave life, Native American life, women, and more than a hundred influential individuals.

2005 ed. An examination of the history and current status of immigrants and refugees, their stories, the events that led to their movement, and the place of these movements in contemporary history and politics.

2009 ed. Covering the period from the 1870s to World War I—during which America was transformed from an isolated agricultural republic into a modern industrial world power—this interdisciplinary reference resource provides definitive coverage of the political, economic, social, and cultural developments of the period.

2006 ed. Covers the emergence of the textile, mining and petroleum, and automobile manufacturing industries and their separate and interconnected roles in the Industrial Revolution.

2009 ed. Portrays the politics, economics, society, and culture of the era in more than 300 fast-paced entries devoted to its personalities, events, institutions, ideas, trends, and cultural landmarks.

2007. Provide coverage of the diplomatic, economic, political, and cultural events in the United States from the outbreak of the Cold War to the rise of the United States as the last remaining superpower.

2019. Provides a thematic and chronological overview of American urban history from the pre-Columbian era until the beginning decades of the twenty-first century.

2011.This comprehensive collection of A-Z entries and primary source documents presents a thorough examination of all the individuals, groups, and events surrounding the 9/11 terrorist attacks.

2012. From the prohibition of alcoholic beverages, to slavery, to the voting rights of women, this text illustrates how the US Constitution has changed since its ratification in 1789.

2013. Provides a comprehensive, accessible treatment of the events of Japanese American internment that includes topical, event, and biographical entries.

2007. Two hundred entries explore the entertainments, amusements, and people of the United States during the difficult years of the 1930s.