LibGuides: Writing & Rhetoric: Reference resources

Dictionaries

Oxford English Dictionary Online This link opens in a new window
2nd ed. with updates. A historical dictionary of English that aims to show not only the current meanings of words but also to trace their development through time. Entries contain detailed etymological analysis and are illustrated by quotations from a wide range of English language sources from around the world.
Terms of use

Green's Dictionary of Slang
2010 ed. Green’s Dictionary of Slang is an unprecedented 10.3 million-word collection of the impertinent, vile, censored, hip, witty, and fascinating slang words of the English language.
An Encyclopedia of Swearing: The Social History of Oaths, Profanity, Foul Language, and Ethnic Slurs in the English-speaking world
"A-Z entries cover the full range of swearing and foul language in English, including fascinating details on the history and origins of each term and the social context in which it found expression."

A Bibliography of English Etymology
Divided into two parts: a list of sources, and a word list. Look up your word in the latter, which will then direct you to the relevant sources.

Gale Virtual Reference Center This link opens in a new window
Coverage: varies. A database of encyclopedias and specialized reference sources for multidisciplinary research.
Terms of use
Britannica Online This link opens in a new window
Coverage: current. This web version of the Encyclopedia Britannica includes links to websites, a subject guide to the Internet, and special features.
Terms of use