Citation for a project is left up to the discretion of your professor - s/he may want you to cite in a different style or have specific rules for you to follow.
Always check with your professor before preparing your Works Cited or Bibliography!!
For Bibliography or Works Cited page –
- Image itself (Painting, sculpture, photograph)
Artist last name, Artist first name. Title of image. Date of composition. Medium. Location of institution that houses image.
Picasso, Pablo. Gertrude Stein. 1905-6. Oil on canvas. Metropolitan Museum of Art, New York.
* If date of composition is unknown, put “n.d.”
- Untitled image
* If image is untitled, write "Untitled" and give a brief, descriptive title for it parenthetically.
Artist last name, Artist first name. Untitled (brief, descriptive title). Date of composition. Medium. Location of institution that houses image.
Muybridge, Eadweard. Untitled (photograph of horse running). 1887. National Gallery, London.
- Image referenced in text
Artist’s last name, first name. Title of artwork. Year. Name of institution/private collection housing artwork. Title of print source. Author/editor’s first name last name. Publication city: Publisher, year. Page/plate number. Print.
Kahlo, Frida. The Two Fridas. 1939. Museo de Art Moderno, Mexico City. Gardner’s Art Through the Ages: The Western Perspective. Ed. Fred S. Kleiner, Christin J. Mamiya. Belmont: Thomson Wadsworth, 2006. 774.
- Image downloaded from a website
Artist’s last name, Artist first name. Title of artwork. Year. Medium. Location of institution that houses image. Title of database or website. Publisher/sponsor of database or website. Web. Date of access. <URL (optional)>
Cloix, Emmanuel. BROUSSAI 2 visu. 2007. Photograph. Wikimedia Commons. Wikimedia Foundation. Web. 1 June 2011. <http://commons.wikimedia.org/wiki/File:BROUSSAI_2_visu.jpg> .
- Image from database
Artist last name, Artist first name. Title. Date of composition. Medium. Location of instiution that houses image. Database. Date you accessed image. <url of image>. Digital image.
Johns, Jasper. Flag on Orange Field. 1957. Oil on canvas. Erich Lessing Archives, New York. ARTstor. 12 April 2013. <http://www.artstor.org>. Digital image.
Figures and In-text citation
If you are using images as figures in your paper, in-text citations are different than how you would treat a book.
Colgate University Libraries | 13 Oak Drive, Hamilton, NY 13346 | 315-228-7300